Someone said :
But do they know if they have been deleted by you?
They won't get notified, but if they try get on your page it will be obvious you deleted them.
One day I went on a major rampage and deleted about half my 'friends'. It was quite therapeutic. But I still feel kinda guilty about some of them - friends of my siblings and siblings of my friends.
But I never talk to them, so why are we friends.
Also it's actually happened people come up in 'friend suggestions' on the left hand side after I delete them. So that means I appear on their 'friend suggestions' too. Not cool Facebook!